Problem creating an invoice using PHP oAuth. Just need a nudge in the right direction!

I’m an experienced dev, but haven’t used oAuth widely so I expect I’m making a silly mistake!

I’m using the light PHP oAuth library suggested by Freeagent in the docs (the one right at the bottom of the list). I’ve been able to set up authentication, retrieve a token, store the expiry date and then set up a process to automatically fetch a new token when the current one expires.

So far, so good!

I’ve also been able to set up contacts in the Sandbox and then list these in my web based application pulling them down from Freeagent.

Again, all good.

The problem I’m having is creating a new invoice and I suspect it’s my lack of oAuth knowledge that’s causing the problem, despite reading the API docs and having a good look around for a solution.

Here’s what I’m trying to do to create the invoice (PHP):

$client = new OAuth2\Client(CLIENTID, SECRET);
$params = array($xml); // See below

$response = $client->fetch("https://api.sandbox.freeagent.com/v2/invoices",
    $params,
    'GET',
    array(
        "Authorization" => "Bearer $freeagentaccesstoken",
    	"User-Agent" => "My web app",
    	"Content-Type" => "application/xml",
    	"Accept" => "application/json"
    )
);

I’m looking to send the invoice request in XML and receive the response in JSON.

My XML ($xml in the above) is formatted as follows:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
 <invoice>
<contact>https://api.sandbox.freeagent.com/v2/contacts/58019</contact>
<dated-on type="datetime">2019-05-07</dated-on>
<payment_terms_in_days>15<payment_terms_in_days>
<currency>GBP</currency>
<net-value type="decimal">0.0</net-value>
<total-value type="decimal">20.00</total-value>
<paid-value type="decimal">0.0</paid-value>
<due-value type="decimal">20.00</due-value>			            
<invoice-items type="array">
   <invoice-item>
      <description>Description will go here</description>
      <item-type>Hours</item-type>