Avoiding re-inventing the wheel

Hello

I am new to FreeAgent.
I have experience of APIs but not used this one yet.

Background.
I am using it for a charity which gets donations into PayPal, Stripe and Go-Cardless (and other payment providers).
FreeAgent looks like it is designed to use these as a way of getting payments - from invoices, rather than external payments coming in.

Our main account does not support a bank feed. (It does xero and may work with Nordigen - now part of GoCardless).

What I would like to do is set up APIs to import bank transactions to freeagent, probably from Stripe and bank using the nordifen/Go-Cardless APIs.

Rather than re-inventing - has anyone already done this or are there any examples available?

Many thanks

Hello!

I don’t work at FreeAgent, I’m simply a happy customer.

Normally the first step with FreeAgent is to set up a bank feed so FreeAgent can pull in the transactions in your bank account. You said your main account does not support a bank feed – have you seen the list of supported banks here?

As you wrote, FreeAgent’s payment-provider integrations are mainly geared towards work which is invoiced from within FreeAgent. It’s up to you to explain payments you receive outside any FreeAgent invoices.

I have some experience of this for Stripe and GoCardless payments, though not Paypal. You can see the result here if you’re interested.

Happy to try to help with any further questions!

Yours,
Andrew Stewart

Hi,

FreeAgent supports the importing of bank transactions from:

Whilst these integrations differ slightly from bank feeds they do ultimately result in a “bank” account containing the associated transactions.

Hopefully this helps but happy to discuss it further :slight_smile:

Alistair Sutherland

Thanks for replying.

Co-operative business bank only supports bank feeds with Zero.

It’s CSV format unhelpfully contains a couple of title/information lines.